Seven Nepticulidae new to the Iberian Peninsula and several new province records (Lepidoptera: Nepticulidae)

Publication Type:Journal Article
Year of Publication:2008
Authors:A. Laštůvka, Laštůvka Z.
Journal:SHILAP Revista de Lepidopterologia
Date Published:2008-12
Keywords:Acalyptris minimella, Bohemannia pulverosella, Ectoedemia albifasciella, Ectoedemia andalusiae, Ectoedemia angulifasciella, Ectoedemia caradjai, Ectoedemia contorta, Ectoedemia erythrogenella, Ectoedemia intimella, Ectoedemia leucothorax, Ectoedemia pubescivora, Etainia decentella, Fomoria euphorbiella, Fomoria septembrella, Glaucolepis andalusica, Glaucolepis bleonella, Glaucolepis pederi, Glaucolepis rosmarinella, Glaucolepis stoechadella, Glaucolepis thymi, Levarchama eurema, Nepticulidae, Parafomoria fumanae, Parafomoria liguricella, Parafomoria tingitella, Portugal, Spain, Stigmella atricapitella, Stigmella aurella, Stigmella dorsiguttella, Stigmella eberhardi, Stigmella freyella, Stigmella hybnerella, Stigmella ilicifoliella, Stigmella incognitella, Stigmella perpygmaeella, Stigmella rolandi, Stigmella suberivora, Stigmella thuringiaca, Stigmella trimaculella, Trifurcula calycotomella, Trifurcula iberica, Trifurcula immundella, Trifurcula josefklimeschi, Trifurcula orientella, Trifurcula squamatella, Zimmermannia liguricella, Zimmermannia longicaudella

The records of seven Nepticulidae species new to the Iberian Penisula are given. Five of them are new to Spain, viz. Parafomoria fumanae Lastuvka & Lastuvka, 2005, Bohemannia pulverosella (Stainton, 1849), Ectoedemia (Etainia) decentella (Herrich-Schäffer, 1855), E. (Ectoedemia) intimella (Zeller, 1848), and E. (E.) contorta Nieukerken, 1985, and the following two species are new to Portugal: Trifurcula (Trifurcula) orientella Klimesch, 1953, and Parafomoria tingitella (Walsingham, 1904), the latter being new to Europe. New province records are given of 38 species (58 new province records in all). Adults, genitalia, or leaf mines are illustrated in important cases.

Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith